top of page

Annual Training at PTA, Hawaii Island.

Hey everyone, I'm back again with another blog post! Its been a while but incase you were wondering where Ive been for the past two weeks, I was out on the Big Island for Annual Training with my National Guard Unit. It was a great AT even if we didn't get to do more training like we did two years ago. Like always on every AT, I bring my camera gear so I can document and take photos during the two weeks. I don't post anything that will violate the OPSEC( Operational Security) Rule, so most of the photos I post are just landscapes and my friends. Im pretty much designated as the Company Photographer so its my duty to take photos of everyone and the training we do, so we have something for ourselves to look back at.

Here are some of my photos from the trip in Big Island, we stayed out at Pohakuloa Training Area, headed down to Hilo to drop off vehicles, and finally left to Kona side at Kawaihae on our final days at the beach.

The bus ride from Wahiawa to the airport.

Snapping some photos of the crew while we waited for our flight to arrive.

Finally landed at Kona, now for the long drive all the way up to PTA. A lot of of the guys were out cold ten minutes into the ride. Perfect opportunity for snapchat shots.

Me and CJ, Hawaiians coming in!

Arrived at PTA, waiting for the next movement. All or vehicles from our armory were staged in this area weeks before we got here.

TC for life haha, that stands for, "Truck Commander" which is also codenamed for being a Passenger. This is SSG Paddaca driving while I was the TC, pretty much snapping away with my camera for anything that looked photo worthy.

Last movement of the day, arriving at our FOB (Forward Outpost Base) which was the same place we came to two years ago.

This is my my tent pictured here on the bottom left corner. Not too bad but the airmat and layers of sheets did not prevent the rocks I was sleeping on, to give me a good sleep.

Setting up equipment and moving things, pretty much did it most of the day. In the end it was worth the hard work.

some of the boys hanging out during lunch.

MRE Gainz.

Gave my friend my camera so he could take some candid shots of everyone.

Woah look at this high-speed soldier X) Idk how I managed to not take photos of me in full gear and with my machine gun.

Pretty much all we did here most of the times was played card games. Thats one of the main ways we bonded together and kept the morale high. Phone connection didn't exist for most of the carriers so we found ways to kill time.

Some of the guys working on the Wrecker, which is basically a giant army version of a tow truck. It can pull out almost any vehicle for recovery missions.

At night, we played cards; laughing, yelling, and having a good time.

A few night photo shoots for fun.

Nighttime snack with my favorite, MREs!

How to make the most out of your army food, throw some M&Ms on the Peanut butter with bread.

Here comes the night sky, I had a chance to shoot the Milky Way thanks to the perfect opportunity with a break in the weather. I did have a similar shot from two years ago here. So glad I brought my camera along.

Told one of my friends to go pose for a quick photo, not knowing if it would turn out or not. As he stood there, I did a short light painting with a flashlight to get the lighting on him while my camera was capturing the night sky. I wasnt disappointed with my results.

Long road back to base camp.

Marine CH-53 Stallion. These helicopters were flying almost everyday, they're loud but pretty roomy if you ever been in one.

While on a contact team mission, we check out all the Artillery Batteries, to see if any of their vehicles had problems or needed something to be fixed. At the same time we were able to watch them live fire. It was neat seeing them in action, these guys don't mess around and I'm pretty sure they don't miss their targets.

Foggy weather dinner time!

Chaplin coming down for chow.

Sometimes this weather was good to be in, I didn't mind water building up on my uniform. My tent however was a water catcher everyday.

Fox Forward Support Company 29th BSB, of the 1-487th Field Artillery "Hiki No" Battalion.

Recovery Team of 2nd Squad, aka "Hammah".

Contact Team from 1st Squad

Can you find me in here?

Its always, "Hurry up and wait" if you're in the Army. This guy was slept the whole way from PTA to Hilo.

Getting ready to leave PTA, it was a good two weeks of AT and its time to come back home.

On the way to Hilo.

I got caught again but at least I smiled for the camera while my friend went around taking photos.

Lol my friend said this photo GQ worthy, my telephoto lens came in handy for those distance shots.

Our final days ended up on the Kona Side of the island at Kawaihae, where we stayed at the boat harbor for two days. I took advantage of the night sky again, I could see the Milky Way event better out here.

We crowded this restaurant for breakfast, this was probably the most people they ever had in one morning. Food was so Ono and better than eating MREs.

Some Sunset shots of my friends.

Hammah Dolo Crew, "HD Crew" always getting those food gainz.

Last day BBQ before we leave for Oahu.

These Piers out in the Harbor was the perfect jumping spot for use while we down here. I was nonstop with swimming on this day.

Last sunset from Big Island, dont know when I'll be back gain but when I do, it will be more of a vacation and traveling adventure, just so I can add more stuff to my photography, unless I visit family here. Other than that, this concluded my AT, I can't wait to be back here again soon.

Stay tune for the next blog post, thanks everyone for your continued support on my photography,

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Me
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • White Instagram Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page