top of page

Setting Fire To The Sky.


If you were out somewhere on the island this past Sunday evening, you might have probably noticed how beautiful the sunset was that day. This last weekend and the days before were nothing but gloomy vibes and rain storm weather. Somehow, mother nature gave us all a break from all the darkness and let the sun come through, a sign that the beautiful Hawaii weather was making a comeback.

I was out in Waikiki this Sunday attending a luncheon at the Sheraton Moana, for the Waikiki Aquarium's Volunteer appreciation event. I started my early morning hitting up the surf at Waikiki Walls. The weather that morning was brutal, I stayed in my truck for about a hour hoping the rain would stop but eventually ended up going after seeing how good it looked. I stayed in the surf for about a few hours, drenched in the rain while also hoping I don't contract any viruses from the water (A hotel got caught leaking sewage into the beachfront recently). It was off to the hotel and after that, I decided to head back in the water for a second round of surf.

By that time it was already 4pm and I decided to head back since I got tired of waiting for waves due to the swell dropping and weather making me feel like a popsicle lol. After suffering the cold wet weather, I stayed in my truck and decided to wait it out and snack on an MRE for dinner. Thats when the rain slowly came to a halt and the sun creeped its way out of the clouds. From that point on, the sun made its way clearing away the gray skies snd thus, a sunset was about to form. This is when I decided to stay and wait for the sunset, Im so glad I did because it was one of the greatest things to see again, after all this bad weather.

These are some of the photos I took, luckily I had my camera gear with me, as well as my Lee Filter sets for the long exposure photos I did. I also filed a few cinematic clips with my DJI OSMO as well. Be sure to check my Facebook photography page to see all of my photos

The calm after the storm, this was right after I got out of my round #2 of surf and hid in my truck to wait out the rain. I was tripping when the sun came out, it was like, life wanted to be nice to me again haha. Good thing my truck's seats is a long row, otherwise I couldn't make an artsy photo like this.

Waikiki Walls before sunset, glad to be back out here again, then again I'm almost always in Waikiki every weekend.

Took a lot of photos at this famous Jetty along the shoreline. I did a similar photo here last year, but not during Sunset.

With my long exposure shots, Ive used the Lee Filters system. I started with the Little Stopper, Super Stopper, and now using the Big Stopper. Each version has a certain number of stops that allows light to alter your photos when you leave the shutter open from a few seconds to minutes. These photos were used with my Canon 7D, Canon 16-35mm f4L Wide Angle Lens, and Lee Filters Big Stopper. I left the shutter open for this photo around 20-25 seconds. To get these type of shots, you have to understand how long exposure photos work. As for me from what I learned with these photos, I experiment and apply my own style to the basics. Without these filters, I wouldn't be able to capture the movement of nature in a way normal cameras can't get.

A photo without the filter, you can see the difference it makes, I wanted to capture this as a normal shot and show what was going on.

These are my Panorama Shots. I used my Manfrotto Tripod while starting from one end of the jetty, then worked my way taking photos frame by frame towards the buildings. Theres about 4-5 photos merged into one, by using Adobe Photoshop. Combining panoramas with long exposure effects, can create breathtaking landscape photos.

One last photo before I end the weekend off, making sure I capture this moment on film with my FujiFilm Instax Mini. Aloha Sundaye everyone and see you again soon.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Me
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • White Instagram Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page