top of page

Sunday Funday Reunion.


Nalu is back in action again on his weekend adventures, this time with friends!!! This past Sunday, my weekend adventure started out with a sunrise shoot near Diamond Head, then out to the West Side of the island. My friends from UH wanted to go swim with dolphins so we ended up planning out that trip. I also had my good photography buddy, Troy, to come out and hang with us. We had 10 of us, it was epic, just like last year when I had the same amount of people in the back of my old truck. After 10am, we left UH Manoa and headed West bound. We encountered some partial heavy rain along the H1 and I got little worried for majority of everyone who was in the back getting rained on haha. With a little luck we kept on pushing and what do you know, it became all sunny once we got to that side.

Our first stop was Makua Beach, luckily one of my other friends who was already there that morning, gave me the heads up about Dolphins in the area. They were far out and didn't come back so looking for them was out of the plan. However we still did enjoy a fun time diving, swimming, surfing on a inflatable duck and pretty much just chilling and relaxing.

After that we headed down to Mermaid Cave where we took all my friends to see since they haven't been there yet. There was a bit of a high tide with waves but there were also a lot of other people hanging around that spot too. It was pretty funny, all you could hear was constant screaming and laughing, especially trying to get everyone down and up the entrance. We spent about an hour out there and called it a day by going to Taco Bell.

It was great reuniting with the girls and also meeting more new friends of theirs, I haven't had an adventure day like that in a while and I can't wait to do more with them again soon.

Check out the photos from Sunday, it will make you wish you could've gone on that trip with us.

The entire crew, minus Troy since he was above watching our stuff and didn't want to go down. We were out at Mermaid Cave and had a blast here trying not to die from the waves crashing in.

Telling my friend Sagan to get some artsy photos of me while I was swimming haha.

You know its about to be a LIT beach day when you have the pineapple floaty.

Danielle attempting to do a pose by sitting on the bottom, its not as easy as it looks. Sagan tried a few times but couldn't get it down, its pretty hard if you're not used to holding your breath that long and that deep down too. I can't hold my breath that long too but we still tried getting whatever photos we could.

Heres Sagan, about to heat up the water aha, she killed it with her photos in the water. We swam out to get some shots of her in the water, luckily I brought my camera and housing. I loved getting those over and under photos, they're really good when you do portraits in water. I used my Canon 1D Mark ii with a Canon EF 16-35mm f/4 L Wide Angle Lens and a Aquatech Water Housing.

These photos came out nice, I loved how the water clarity here gives the pictures with a nice blue backdrop. The weather was perfect as well, super sunny and clear skies, it definitely

These Hair flip shots were pretty difficult to get, I didnt have my settings on my camera to shoot a high frame rate so I did as much tries I could get. I wasn't disappointed, these three came out nice. The main focus of this shot wasn't to get both the outside and water, to be in focus but the action and movement of the hair flip and water drips.

Heres my other other friend, Morgan, she really loves these types of photos and loved diving and swimming out in the ocean. Her and I are pretty much the only two that are more daring and adventurous out of our group, heck were always the only two that are up early and waiting to go on an adventure at 5am while everyone else is still sleeping. Its always fun to hangout with her, she's more like me, just chill and mellow out of her group of friends. Here are some shots I got of her while we all out swimming.

Look at the clarity of the water, its too unrealistic to be like this, but when you're out here on the west side, this is what you're going to expect. Only if its sunny and clear just like this day was.

More half and half shots with Morgan. These shots aren't that hard to take but timing is always prime, when you want to to get the right photo. I ended up taking dozens of shots of the same spot and I told Morgan to just swim around while I keep snapping away.

The trick with getting these shots with a Camera and Housing is to keep the subject in focus while watching the water line on the screen. It depends on your housings view finder, and if you're using goggles it may get in the way. What I do is keep my eye on the viewfinder and when everything is in place, I slowly move up and down and click the shutter button at the same time. By doing this I'll be getting multiple photos with that half-and-half effect. Its a trial and error process but once you do this over and over or keep practicing, you'll get good and interesting pictures.

Theres that famous inflatable duck we used for catching waves. You can catch my video on my instagram feed or when its up on youtube. I swear we flipped over on this thing so much, I thought it was broken by the time we left.

That face you make when the weekend is over but you still want to party.

Selfie Sunday was on point, of course I couldn't miss out this opportunity.

About to drown by my gigantic heavy housing and this girl.

Some photo from Mermaid Cave down on the West Side, we stopped here after diving out at Makua Beach that afternoon. It was so much fun especially with this much people in here. It got way too lit.

Always %100 good vibes with my friends, everywhere we go its nothing but pure Aloha and happiness. These girls have always been one of my closest friends and they know how much of a great guy I am to be a part of in their lives. There wouldn't be a crazy adventure day without any of us.

Where will the next adventure be? Stay tuned and find out on next weekend's post.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Me
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • White Instagram Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page