top of page

Weekend Recap #53: These Damn Feelings.


On this weekend's blog recap, we cover a music video in the making, with a longtime high school friend and former band member. Taking it back to probably a month before we even worked on this video, this song, "These Damn Feelings" was thought of by me, after I sent my friend a snapchat of a little drawing I made. That drawing was a giant wave with me falling off a surfboard, it was a symbol of someone that I liked and her ig name was created to the ocean, and adding in my feelings, that leads to the caption, "These Damn Feelings." Now fast forward to today, my good friend, Joshua Luna, made it into a song that will be released soon along with his other songs on his first EP.

Our location to shoot the video took two places, Spitting Caves and a sorta secret cove by the first lookout point before reaching Sandy Beach. We took two days to do the shoot along with some photos in between filming. This was by far one of the best weekends I had during this summer break. My friend Holo was our designated camera man so he used my camera and gimbal stabilizer for the shots. We used my Canon 6D with a Canon EF 16-35mm f4L Wide Angle Lens, to film the video. I also used my 5D Mark ii to capture some still shots. I also made a new friend that day, the other person playing the lead role in the video :) Whitney was Holo's friend from where he used to work at and the guys invited her to be part of the music video to star with Josh and I. If it wasn't for her, I don't think this video wouldn't be as great as it was now, she did a very good job playing her part. I look forward to working with her in the future for photography related events. Without this amazing crew, none of this would've ever happened and I wouldn't have exciting photos to share.

Im so glad for this weekend, it was truly meant to be and I could possibly see why but for now its back to the normal life until the next adventure or event. Be sure to check out this music video by my friend, its up on youtube, search for "Joshua Luna" or "Mars Luna". Support my friend and a local musician from Hawaii, he's going to be the next music star for sure.

On set at Spitting Caves in Hawaii Kai. This was the main backdrop for the first half of the music video. I also like to come here to do photo shoots (When I start getting more work) it's someplace different and the scenery is unreal.

Josh and Holo doing some experimental photography work with a mirror.

Told Josh to go stand over there and hold the balloon like he was about to let it go. This was a actually a good photo, tried so much times to get the ballon to face the right way.

Candid shot of Whitney, I liked how this came out, almost looks like a shot for Jewelry.

On our next location, we came to this secluded spot right by the first lookout point before you get to Sandy Beach. This would be my third time traveling here believe it or not. This is another spot thats great to take photos at, but sadly this time was a little more rough when we came her last time. This spot worked out well because we managed to get the main scenes in this opening.

Snapping the snappers.

Not the Kalihi Mafia Pose ah???

Unannounced selfie and also to say that the music video was finally done.

Josh and Whitney posed as I shot this photo for one of the song covers.

This roses made a good prop to get some epic photos of Whitney. This shot really relates to the music video title, "These Damn Feelings."

Everyone getting their shots at the high point of this cliff. I was more worried about everyone's safety since you could just slip off hit straight rocks and not the water. But that didn't stop us from getting some awesome memories.

Holo took this shot of me, this reminded me of something from Ala Moana Shopping Magazine haha. Finally I have a decent formal photo of myself.

Gotta love Whitney, she's a nice and charming person. I believe her and I have the same interest in art, as well as photography. Hoping she can come along and travel with me on my journeys.

On the edge, thinking......

If this weekend was meant to be, then all I gotta say is, "PAU HANAZ BRAH!!!!"

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Me
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • White Instagram Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page