top of page

Weekend Recap #52: Chasing The Pod.


Guess what everyone? I finally got see Dolphins up close and personal in the wild for the first time ever!!! This made be old news for some or most of you but for me it was a big deal and the one of the best diving experiences I ever had in my life. To break it down for you, this was part of a diving trip and beach day with a couple of my buddies from my NG unit. We decided to go out to Makua area and dive for fish, while I tag along to shoot photos of them. Ive been to Makua many times before but could never find dolphins swimming along (I always miss the right time of the day or its just empty sometimes).

While my friends were hunting for fish, I decided to turn back and head to the crowd of a diving tour that was encountering dolphins on their swim. I waited quite some time before they ended swimming towards my direction. Thats when I had the moment to capture these beautiful creatures cruising along the ocean. They're very fast underwater and there was probably around more than 20 0r 30 in that Pod. It was the best thing I ever encountered in the ocean, next to diving with sharks.

Tried my best to keep up and get as many photos as I could. I waste disappointed, i came out with great photos. Hopefully next time I'll be able to swim with them again and maybe have better lenses or lighting equipment to get those crazy detailed shots.

I tired to catch up with them but they out swam me aha.

One of my best photos rom that day, really shows a deep picture and perspective of these creatures swimming through the ocean.

My friend CJ provided us with his won spear guns and we didn't leave empty handed, he caught three fish and a 7-11 crab!!! Only guy that caught something haha, my other friend and I were empty handed.

This was the 7-11 crab that my friend caught, it just appeared out of hiding from under a ledge on the bottom of the reef. It was as if it was meant to be food that day, I actually thought my friend wanted me to shoot a Kumu swimming airbus that I seen but he was pointing out the crab. I was poking it with the spear because I didn't know what he wanted me to do with it so, the crab immediately got into a fighting stance. hats when my friend decided to just shoot it so he could take it with him. this was the second time i seen this crab out in the ocean, they're like something rare to find now days.

CJ with his catches of the day, that Papio was a nice size though.

Theres me lol

My friend Kamaka posing for some epic dive shots while I take photos of him. Just look at how deep this space is.

Can you spot my friend? Waiting for an unlucky victim to swim in his path.

A great day diving out with friends and a great experience seeings dolphins, would love to do it again next time.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Me
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • White Instagram Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page