top of page

Weekend Recap #47: Chasing the Sunset.


Back to another weekend in beautiful Waikiki, Oahu. I made the trip to this side of the island to attend a meet and greet event hosted by Hawaii's well known surf photographer, Zak Noyle. From my arrival around 4pm, I had all my gear with me and decided to film the surf with my drone and take photos of the sunset. It was such a beautiful evening, I wish I brought my board so I could surf but then i would be stuck there till night time haha.

What made this day beautiful watching the sunset. I haven't seen a Sunset from Waikiki like this in a while, it was so worth the wait especially when I stood in the same place for over an hour while waiting for the sunset. It was a great weekend, now I'm ready for the next and this time I'll be getting back into my full photography mode!

Scanning the surf down towards Waikiki with my telephoto lens.

I loved how the sunset matched with the waves crashing on the walls with my shutter speed effect on my camera.

Final glimpse of the sun as it sets down in the west side.

Party Wave and Pau Hana on a Saturday.

South Shore Swells hitting Waikiki real good.

It was an honor to be in the presence of one of my favorite photographers and inspiration, Zak Noyle and a few of the surfers from the recent Eddie surf competition along with the legend himself, Clyde Aikau. This was mainly the main reason why I went out to Waikiki on this Saturday. Zak Noyle was hosting his meet and greet event at the DFS Galleria, so Id figure id come out and support this event and to also meet the surfers and Clyde Aikau. It was a great night, I also ran into a few of the guys from the Sandy Beach Crew. I was able to score myself a poster signed by everyone with Zak being the last because he was running around doing interviews and talking story to other people. It was nice being able to see him again, haven't seen him since the last Pipeline Swell. Incase you didn't know, he is one of my biggest inspirations towards photography. My photography was loosely based on ocean and waves but since everyone was doing it, I wanted to change up the scene a bit and try shooting surfers or people riding waves, thus I ended up discovering Zak. Zak was one one of my motivations to start shooting out at Big Surf Pipeline around three years ago and to get myself out of my comfort zone. I was probably one of the youngest guys shooting out there at the time I started and now I'm seeing a lot more younger people hitting the lineup. With that being said, It was the best Saturday so far and I hope to have another one soon. Looks like I'll be in Waikiki more often during the summer for surf lol.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Me
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • White Instagram Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page