top of page

Weekend Recap #43: Into the Sea


This past weekend was pretty short lived but I did managed to cop up some photos throughout the week. I traveled to my usual North Shore spots; Shark's Cove, Ke'iki Beach, and Ehukai Beach Park.

The surf was down for now but it made perfect diving conditions on Wednesday morning at Shark's Cove so I took advantage of it since I started work at 2pm instead of 8am. I was able to put my SPL housing and Rokinon 8mm fisheye to the test. I was surprised at how the photos came out. It was like shooting with a GoPro but a little better. For the turtle shots, most of them I was completely close by but with the fisheye, it gives it that distinct wide view, cover everything in the background. Looking froward to more diving days once summer hits the North Shore area.

School of A Hole Hole (Hawaiian Flag Tail fish) they're the usual fish species that thrive around this area of Shark's Cove.

Hong everywhere, this guy was about 3ft away from me.

Oceanic Wanderlust.

Over-Under shot with a fisheye lens is far better than using a non wide angle type of lens.

Of course gotta throw in a selfie on every dive adventure.

We head out to Ke'iki beach, after a long day of work. The size was manageable but nothing serious or crazy, until I got out though. Decided to drive out there to see what I could get. I was happy with some of the photos, especially this one pictured above.

Coconut Groove.

Tried to lay on the sand for this shot, but sometimes you just hold the housing sideways and try not to get hit with it.

A little creative shot from a small sand pool nearby.

Always powered by Da Fin swim fins.

Onto the weekend!!! I was back at it again at Ehukai Beach Park and tried to shoot some of the action in the sandbar. It was crazy and I was trying more to get shots of people diving under waves for a creative idea and different photo perspective. Here our some of the examples from that day.

Shooting random people diving under waves is quite fun but it also helps me learn how to set my camera for these conditions and what I need to expect when I do these type of shots with people I know of or who wants shots like these.

Still trying to master shooting surfers from behind, underwater.

I was really close to getting this vortex shot, this was the last set of this sequence. Hopefully next time I'll be able to get the manual focusing on my lens to match the distance I need it to be at.

It was back to Ke'iki beach on Sunday with my brother. We went here after our easter lunch at our grandparent's house. I was trying to train my brother to brave Ke'iki beach waves because he's still learning and I want him to know how to stay in with shore break waves. This day wasn't big yet but it was picking up. It got a little too crazy for my brother, he eventually went back to shore after sets were breaking outside and I was coaching him to dive under them an not panic.

One of the best shots form that evening, sun flared up behind as this crispy set rolled in my view.

The colors of the sun setting down along with the sandbar made an epic color way as the waves broke along the shore.

Ke'iki Beach will be back again later on, its as nice being able to shoot here again. Cheers to another weekend and to many more in the future \m/.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Me
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • White Instagram Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page