top of page

Onto Hawaii Island

Two weeks on the Big Island of Hawaii, how fun is that? Well it wasnt just a vacation, I was there for military training with the National Gaurd. Finally we were able to do our annual training on another island, rather than staying back on Oahu. This trip was also my first time at the Pohakuloa Training Area, located far the desert side of the island. I was fortunate enough to have my camera on the side and take photos for the unit, as well as some photos for my photography use. We stayed about a week up in the middle of almost no where, in chiling 40 degree morning weather and high 80s in the afternoon when the sun was out. after that, it was a hurry up and wait type of game as we headed back down to Hilo. While spending our time there, I tried my best to make the most of our two days in Hilo. Luckily we had a hotel by the beach and I was able to capture a few photos and eventually explore around the area. Other than that, it was a great two weeks training with my unit, learning new things and understanding how it would feel like if we got deployed. Take a moment to look back at the past two weeks of being in the Big Island.

Flying First Class in the C-17 with the Hawaii Air National Gaurd.

Inside look of how big this plane is, you can fit a few vehicles and even helicopters too.

Our camp in the middle of almost nowhere, far from the actual main base camp. This was the current weather condition while we stayed here for about a week. We're about 9,000ft on the island so we were literally on, "Cloud 9".

Finally got a chance to fire this beauty, the M2 Browning or better known as the 50cal. Machine Gun.

Took this candid photo of my friend while we were sitting in the back of the cargo truck after we finished up on the range. This photo almost looks like a scene from a movie.

Capturing the lifestyle at our base at nightgave me creative and crazy photos. This was taken one night when the stars were out on a clear sky without the moon. This was also a hangout spot where people played cards and talked story after our days ended.

Our unit practicing the Haka and stopping to pose for the camera. It's been a good two weeks with everyoone.

After a week in the desert, we were able to spend the remaining days in Hilo. Luckily we had a hotel room for two days. Talk about beachfront relaxation, I couldnt resist the ocean after not seeing it for such a long time. It was a good two days, everyone was out partying, visiting family or just catching up on lost sleep. As for me, I tired to get as much photography work as I could just because I've never seen this side of Hilo before. If our stay was longer, I probably wouldve covered more area and seen more places. It was a fun two days, hopefuly I'll be back here again soon.

A few of us went out to Coconut Island to jump off the famous tower that all the local kids go to. Of course we gotta show em how we do it on Oahu haha. This island is a pretty cool place, imagine living on there, I would.

Liliuokalani Garden, Hilo. This is probably one of the best photos from Hilo that day, It's "Postcard Worthy."

As Annual training and my stay in Big Island came to a close, I felt like I came back home stronger and better. Maybe its because I got to bond more better with those in my unit and needed a bit of a relaxation from my normal life. Other than that, this was the best Annual training so far, next up is California and I'm defitnetly ready for next year.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Me
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • White Instagram Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page