top of page

Sharing the "Aloha Spirit".

This Saturday wasnt my usual weekend routine, instead, it was my usual weekend routine accompanined with guests and all incoporated with sharing the Aloha spirit. I was asked by my cousin who is stationed in Okinawa in the Marines, to show his wife's friend who recently moved to Oahu from Okinawa for school, around the island. I accepted and we planned out what to do for this weekend. Her friend who was also from Okinawa came along us. She moved to Hawaii four years ago and was living on the Big Island for school and recently moved to Oahu for her job. Luckily I still remebered some of my Japanese but it was ok because they could understand English well. We started our day off at the Waikiki Aqaurium, I got them in for free since I worlk there which was a perk for them. Next, we ventured out to Lani Kai Beach for their first time, it was spectacular view especially since Ive never stayed that long on that side of the island before. After that, we went down to my favorite weekend dinner at Highway Inn. Finally, I showed them one of the best places to watch the sunset at Kaka'ako Waterfront Park, while also being that one guy by himself catching the surf. It was a very fun-filled day and it was nice being able to meet people from another country. I got to learn a little bit about them and I got to show them what I do for a living, while also sharing them what the Aloha spirit is all about. No matter what nationality you are, where you come from, or what language you speak, sharing the Aloha spirit with someone can realy bring people together becuase its a universal language and almost all cultures share a similar type of understanding. I hope to see them again soon as well as meet new people and travel the world to experience these types of moments within my photography career.

Our first stop was the Waikiki Aquarium, I told the two that this was one of the places I worked at and offered them free passes to get in for the day. I wasnt able to find my the tickets but I still got them in for free. The perks of working here are pretty awesome.

After our trek in Waikiki, we headed out to the East Side of Oahu; Lani Kai Beach, Kailua. Ive been here before but never stayed a full day. IIt was also the two girls' first time here as well, they wanted me to take them here as a special request. Luckily we found parking and was able to hold a spot on the beach. Now I know why everyone loves to come here, mostly all the girls because its a prime spot for photo shoots.

Marin and her friend

I did a few candid photoshoot style photos for fun, they turned out great. They were lucky to have me as there tour guide and someone who loves to do photography. This was also a little bit of a practice for me since I'm stil working on doing portrait photography to enhance my style and head into that side of the business.

"The Mokes".

Aloha \m/ From Okinawa to Hawaii.

We had a blast making any kind of fun photos, I had the idea to have them look like they were holding the islands.

Group Photo

Thank goodness for my Camera's Wifi and Canon camera app on my phone. Without it, I wouldnt be able to capture our jumping photos. This time I wasnt making my famous jump moves hahaha.

Our journey ended as our hunger was striking us so our next stop was Highway Inn, after driving around Kailua town to figure out what to eat. It was my first suggestion after we couldnt all decide what to eat. Its a good thing they were already acustomed to the "Hawaii Lifestyle". As our final part of our day came to a close, I took them to Kaka'ako Beach Park to show them one of my favorite places to watch the sunrise and wait out traffic. They also got to see me charge the surf while I was bodyboarding and being the only guy in the water. As the rain came and the weather got worse, it was time to call it a day and say our goodbyes. Our journey may have ended but our friendship will always remain, hopefully I'll get to see them again soon. The Aloha spirit was heavily present within our trip, I did my best to show them the island of Oahu and a little bit of my lifestyle. The feeling of Aloha can bring everyone together, no matter who you are or where you come from.

A hui hou, until next time \m/


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Me
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • White Instagram Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page